About Us

Osprey1Formed in 2001 under the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, the Ottawa Stewardship Council (OSC) is a volunteer organization whose mandate is to be a leading partner with individuals, organizations, businesses, and communities throughout Ottawa’s urban and rural areas to promote and maintain a healthy environment.

We represent a wide range of vocations, interests and ideas. Past and present councillors include woodlot owners, urban residents, hunters and anglers, naturalists, ecologists, rural residential owners, community association members, farmers, cottagers, and recreationalists. We are motivated by community service and are committed to the stewardship ethic of advancing knowledge, learning through demonstration projects, and accessing community resources so that the land is passed along to future generations in a better state than it was before.

In 2012, the OSC, along with the other 44 councils across the province, underwent a transition of sponsorship from the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources affiliated program.  With administrative support from the Rideau Valley Conservation Authority, the OSC continues to encourage and enable stewardship of lands and resources in the Ottawa area.

Current members are:


 Members Community
   Isabelle Turcotte – Treasurer Gatineau
   John Whiting Kanata
   Janet Mason – Chair Carp
   Walker Smith Ottawa
   Bob McFetridge – Vice Chair Manotick
   John Herity Manotick